A Town Where My Family Once Lived


9 responses
Martin Luther King's birthday is in a few days. A national holiday questioned by many. Social media is rife with memes about his legacy. MLK represents to my generation what can be accomplished through peaceful courageous protest. Protest = speaking out against injustice. In his case, racial inequality. While the Civil Rights Act abolished restrictive laws from decades past, acceptance was slow going. MLK is the face of the many--black, native and white citizens, who worked hard to loosen the "chains of repression." I am fascinated by stories of 100 years ago found in papers. Folks, these were never "the good old days."
I saw that post on one of the boards about the new book on Sarah Rector from Oklahoma. I'll look for it on my Nook. ++ What is a Black Hand Society? I had trouble calling up the link on my Firefox. Thinking of switching back to Chrome. Tried Internet Explorer but that browser had a number of ads that popped up.
I like the paper's "A Fearless Exponent of Right and Justice." You write that the Star published from 1913 to 1921. Did they cease after the bloody race riot or is that just the cut-off for the uploads from this paper to that website?
The last paper published by this newspaper was in January 1921--several months before the race riot which laid waste to "Black Wall Street" in downtown Tulsa. I wonder what became of the editor and the paper's staff, if they too were forced to flee Oklahoma and/or live in the "tent city" internment camp set up for victims whose homes were among the hundreds burned that awful awful week.
The phrasing from 90 years ago is fascinating. I spy another suffrage story. "Surffragette" may have been the Tulsa pronunciation, I see.
4 visitors upvoted this post.