Abraham Prim Married Nancy Cook in 1819

Source: Ancestry.com. Tennessee, Marriage Records, 1780-2002 [database on-line]. Lehi, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2008. Original data: Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. Nashville, TN, USA: Tennessee State Library and Archives. Microfilm.


          This couple married in Wilson County, Tennessee on February 19, 1819, They MAY BE my maternal 4th GGrandparents. I can't say for certain. Do you have a source showing Abraham's parents or children? Grrrr, locating proof of people prior to the 1850 Federal Census is challenging. 

          Family lore is that Mary Ann Prim(m), wife of William Flemon Cowan, was born to John Abraham Primm.

          But family lore is OFTEN incorrect. I don't find a Prim or Primm by that name--only an Abram or Abraham in Tennessee. Several censuses record Mary Ann Prim Cowan as having a birthplace of Tennessee before moving to Arkansas, and later Texas. 

          Do I know more? No. Will update should the genealogy gods throw me a sign. 

          Until then, I'm re-doing my tree. Chopping limbs' worth of ancestors who have no sources. Or shared DNA. Leaving only those with whom I share blood kinship (and their spouses).