Grandpa Fought The British in North Carolina

          A Revolutionary War pension record tells me my maternal fifth great-grandfather spent two years with the Continental Army: 

Source: U.S., Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files, 1800-1900 via Ancestry.com

          Benjamin Carroll served under a Quaker from Rhode Island: Major General Nathanael Greene, who later was nicknamed "The Savior of the South" and "The Fighting Quaker." (No, I did not misspell General Greene's first name).  Because it is difficult to read, here's my attempt at transcribing this Certificate of Pension. 

North Carolina    29759

Benjamin Carroll

Orange, in the State of North Carolina who was a private in the ____ commanded by Captain ___ of the R___ commanded by C. Tanner in the North Carolina: for 2 years

Inscribed on the ___ of North Carolina at the rate of 80 Dollars and no Cents per annum, to commence on the 4th day of march, 1831.

Certificate of Pension issued the 17th day of July ____

     ___ to the 4th of Sept. 34 $280

     ___ allowance ending Mar: 35. $42

           (Total:)    $320

Revolutionary Claim Act June 7, 1832

Recorded by ___: Rice, Clerk 

Book E Vol. ___ Page 49

            Benjamin, son of alleged Irish immigrant, Stephen Carroll, was born in what is today Orange County, North Carolina on Christmas Day 1753. I've no proof of his parents--as yet. But I was happy to learn the name of his bride's father, my 6 X GGrandpa. This marriage bond document shows what Mr. Christian Peeler posted for his daughter, Nancy.  (Click once to enlarge image)


          I think this image is beautiful! Connecting the dots is my idea of fun. Yay Nancy and Benjamin, my fifth great-grandparents! Glad to meet you (even if it is on paper). 

 Source:  North Carolina, Marriage Index, 1741-2004, via Ancestry.com, County Court Records FHL #0823664 and 0418148

          Benjamin lived until the end of January of 1846, and is buried at Chapel Hill, North Carolina. I understand that his widow Nancy requested and received his pension from the Revolutionary War. (I will post that later)

          For my Willhelm cousins, here are two images showing our relation to ancestors Ben and Nank: