Small Town Newspaper Mentions of Wisers

Newspapers.com/ has Liberty County, Texas newspapers going back to the 1880s. My paternal grandfather, Elton, was born in that small southeast Texas community in 1896. I was happy today to find brief mention of him and his older siblings in a July 24, 1908 edition of The Liberty Vindicator. He would have been 12, and the sister whom he left home to visit for a week was Nora Jones and her husband Edward.

I don't find Nora and Ed in the 1910 census yet, but in 1920 they are living in Norman, Oklahoma. So I don't know what town young "Master Elton" spent his vacation. But clearly his older sister Nina had a "pleasant" visit there, too.

And brother Rufus was under the weather. Do you suppose Rufus Wiser, teenager, wasn't happy to see the news of his illness in the paper? I wouldn't have liked seeing my health condition trumpeted. (Ask me about my great-aunt's goiter making the paper once, good grief!). 


Rufus' good health returned by the time the Fairchilds offered their home to guests for an evening of "charming hospitality." This page follows the one above--both on page 2 of The Vindicator:


The full page is below if you have a hankering to read about kidney trouble, theological difficulties and the Man Zan Pile remedy for er, well, you know. If you have trouble viewing it, right-click to save to your device for enlargement.