Who Killed John Elliott Baker?

My paternal great-grandmother, born Evie Baker, was a first cousin to Elliott Baker. Their fathers married two sisters, Margaret and Matilda Anna Lee, in Daviess County, Missouri. Margaret died in 1886 when only 23. Her husband John remarried Louisa Agness Hoffman in 1892. Their son John was born in November 1895.

I see you nodding off there! Bear with me. 

Look what I found while searching for details on the five (known) children of Louisa and John Baker. Baker is a common name. But dear John appears to have gone by his middle name of Elliott. THAT narrowed the field of Bakers considerably in my "hunt" of Bakers. 

And, bingo! See the right-hand column with the headline misspelling Elliott's name as "EARL?" His given name of Elliott is used correctly in the first sentence:





It made the big city paper, too:


BTW, that top coat went for $67.50. This is during the Depression, mind you. 



News Flash:   His brother did it?  HIS BROTHER!   OMG



From March 27, 1931, the arraignment of the two men charged:





I promise you. I scoured the days in between these last two articles and found nothing else about Who Did What And When. I'm clueless as to why they dropped charges. Let your imagination run wild.

Whaddya' think, crime fighters?


Having nothing to do with the above brutal death of Elliott, I did find a couple of earlier news stories. From February 14, 1910 and March 5, 1925:


Did you read BOTH images above this sentence? The second one depicts a theft.

An egg thief. I am related to an egg thief. 

What's in YOUR family tree?  

2 responses
History Sleuth upvoted this post.
Egg thieves and murderers. Excellent history!